Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards 2022 shortlist announced

The 2022 shortlist in the Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards has been announced. Selected from the 360 entries received this year, the ever-popular Features category boasted the most entries, followed by the Community Service Reporting, Columns/Editorial, Hard News, and Investigative Journalism categories. Unfortunately, there are no shortlisted entries in the new category, Indigenous language reporting in community media (Category 2). There were no shortlisted entries in Category 8: Popular Journalism, as none of the entries met the category criteria. 


The shortlist was determined by this year’s jury: Tyrone August, Melanie-Ann Feris, Ryland Fisher, Helen Grange, Pippa Green, Thabo Leshilo, Mapi Mhlangu, Lesley Mofokeng, Ruth Motau, Neo Ntsoma, Sue Olswang, Mary Papayya, Gus Silber, and Beauregard Tromp. It is noted with much sadness that jury member Phindile Mary Xaba, passed away this Saturday (7 May) following a battle with cancer. Sanef, the Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards team and the jury members send their condolences to the family.


All category winners receive the coveted Sikuvile Journalism Award Trophy, certificate and R15,000 prize money (to be shared if there is more than one winner in a category). Finalists also receive certificates. Hosted by the South African National Editors’ Forum (SANEF and sponsored by Standard Bank, the Awards will announce all the winners at a live event at The Venue, Melrose Arch, on 25 June 2022.


Category 1:   Hard News

Norman Masungwini, Setumo Stone  
“Bushiri escapes SA again”
City Press

Mike Loewe
“35 Fuel Stations dump Shell”
Daily Dispatch

Team News24
“July Unrest Breaking News”

Category 3:   Community Service Reporting

Boikhutso Ntsoko
Mia Lindeque
“10 years after Andries Tatane’s death, Ficksburg govt says Rome was not built in a day”
Eyewitness News

Don Pinnock
“The evicted residents of District Six were robbed of the golden threads of
Don Pinnock

Nomvuyo Ntanjana
“Tatum De Pearce”
SABC2 and SABC news channel 404

Khaya Koko
“Defenders of the last Complex standing”
Mail and Guardian

Category 4:   Investigative Journalism

Daneel Knoetze
Body of work
News24, Daily Maverick, Viewfinder, GroundUp & Carte Blanche

Dewald van Rensburg
“The Cumex Files”

Jeff Wicks
Rudi Louw
Chante Schatz
Nokuthula Manyathi
“Blood Brothers: A tobacco industry death squad exposed”

Pieter-louis Myburgh
“Digital Vibes”
Daily Maverick

Susan Comrie
Sam Sole
“State Capture: The case against Nedbank”

Tiara Walters
“Using Cape Town as a launchpad”
Daily Maverick

Category 5:   Columns / Editorial

Chris Roper
“Unmasking the IRR’s Bogeyman”
Financial Mail

Willemien Brümmer
“Dis hoekom ons moet leer om ook na Nzimande te luister”

Mia Malan
“The joke’s on us, South Africa”
Bhekisisa Centre for Health Journalism

Johanna van Eeden
“Hoekom is ons so geskok?”

Setumo Stone
“The EFF masterstroke”
City press

Category 6:  Visual Journalism (editorial cartoons & graphic layout)

Jaco Grobbelaar
Arisa janse van Rensburg
“Een jaar sedert eerste Covid-19-geval in SA”
Netwerk24, Beeld & Die Burger

Sharlene Rood, Bevan Lakay, Aljoscha Kohlstock, Stefni Herbert, Nokuthula Manyathi
“Getting to know Vaccines”

Shaun Uthum, Vuyo Singiswa, Sarah Buitendach
“Johannesburg, the sinking city?”
Financial Mail

Category 7:   Features

Boikhutso Ntsoko
“SA’s deathcare workers: On the frontline...”
Eyewitness News

Franny Rabkin
“An unlikely Chief Justice”
Sunday Times

Lucas Ledwaba
“Thirsty for change in Limpopo's parched villages”
Daily Maverick & Mail and Guardian

Willemien Brümmer
Body of work: “Pandemie van verdriet”

Don Pinnock
Body of work
Daily Maverick

Category 9:   News Photographs

Jacques Nelles
“Economic coffin after July insurrection”
The Citizen

Phandulwazi Jikelo
“Refugees left stranded without ablution facilities”
Cape Times

Sandile Ndlovu
“King Goodwill Zwelithini takes his final journey”

Category 10:   Feature Photographs

Alon Skuy
“Katlego, A South African Cowboy, The Rodeo Dream”
Sunday Times

Jacques Nelles
“Miners’ daily dice with death”
The Citizen

Lucas Ledwaba
“Women bear brunt of gold mining’s rotten legacy”
Sunday Times

Werner Hills
“The Swarm”
Weekend Post and The Herald

Category 11:  Sports Photographs

Alon Skuy
“Katlego, A South African cowboy, the rodeo dream”
Sunday Times

Esa Alexander
“Springboks series win against British & Irish Lions”
Sunday Times

Phandulwazi Jikelo
“Red Bull King of the air”

African News Agency
Sandile Ndlovu
“2021 COSAFA beach soccer championship”

Category 12:   Lifestyle

Adriaan Roets
“Feestyd in die dronktronk”

Carla Lewis
“In avomafia se greep”

Graham Wood
“Kentridgenomics: What rocketing prices for William’s work say about SA’s art market”
Financial Mail

Onke Ngcuka
“Indigenous crops: Local is not only lekker, it’s also a weapon in the climate crisis battle”
Daily Maverick

The Following Awards will be announced at the Awards event: 
Category 13:   Upcoming/ Rising Star of the Year
Category 14:   Journalist of the Year
Category 15:   Allan Kirkland Soga:  Lifetime Achiever Award

Further information:

Reggy Moalusi- Executive Director 071 682 3695 -
Hopewell Radebe- Projects Manager/ 083 582 1734 -
Dzudzie Netshisaulu – Coordinator/Administrator 079 029 7656/

Friday, 01 April 2022

Found in: Journo News, Journo News, Awards